Welcome
Welcome to EMS Wakra Library!
Latest News
School Gallery
Upcoming Events
  • 18/12/2017Qatar National Day
  • 22/12/2017Winter Break
  • 03/01/2018Term II
  • 28/01/2018Midterm Break
AEC v1.0.4
Home  »  Welcome to EMS Wakra Library!
17th December 2017

Welcome to EMS Wakra Library!

The Library is committed to develop information literate students who are responsible and ethical participants in society.

The Library supports students and teachers through:

  • the access of information,
  • promotion of lifelong learning, and
  • help on becoming effective users of ideas and information.

Collection

The Library currently houses more than 21,000 books. These comprise a wide selection of big picture books and everybody books section for our younger readers while primary students can enjoy the Library by reading Fiction, Non-Fiction, and Arabic section. There’s a significant collection of teachers ‘resources which includes KITs (book, CD, related toy characters), DVDs, and literature sets (multiple copies of books for class use).

The database of these exciting resources can be easily accessed through this catalog:

Destiny Quest

 

You may also visit the following links below to search more information that you need.

ANIMALS

San Diego Zoo (http://zoo.sandiegozoo.org/)

Caring for animals (https://www.avma.org/KB/K12/Pages/petpourri-activity1.aspx)

Wildlife Conservation (http://www.wcs.org/)

Birds – All about Birds (http://www.allaboutbirds.org/page.aspx?pid=1189)

Animal Guide - Monterey Aquarium (http://www.montereybayaquarium.org/animal-guide)

Dinosauria (http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/diapsids/dinosaur.html)  

OUR PLANET

From Canada. Kids learning about the Ecology (http://ecokids.ca/pub/kids_home.cfm)

Planets – Kids Astronomy (http://www.kidsastronomy.com/)

Biomes of the World – Blue Planet (http://www.blueplanetbiomes.org/world_biomes.htm)

Canadian National Geographic (http://www.canadiangeographic.ca/kids/default.asp)

SCIENCE

Catch the Science Bug (http://www.sciencebug.org/)

Science Buddies (http://www.sciencebuddies.org/)

Science News for Kids (https://student.societyforscience.org/sciencenews-students)

Science Kids (http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/sciencefacts.html)

Weather Wiz Kids (http://www.weatherwizkids.com/)

National Geographic Kids (http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/explore/)

From Science Bob. Students learn how to do experiments, find a science fair project, watch videos and ask general questions.(http://www.sciencebob.com/index.php)

THE ARTS

(Music, Art, Sports, Museums, Crafts)

Arts – ALA – Great Websites for Kids (http://gws.ala.org/category/arts)

Interactive and fun website is hosted by Buffalo, New York’s Albright Knox Art Gallery.

Kids from 4 to 12 will have a blast creating their own masterpieces and playing art-inspirational games. (http://kids.albrightknox.org/loader.html)

MUSIC

Sponsored by the Charles H. Dater Foundation. Features different composers, games and general information about music. (http://www.classicsforkids.com/)

From Fun Brain. Includes three games students can play. (http://www.funbrain.com/teachers/subj_music.html)

New York Philharmonic Kids  (http://www.nyphilkids.org/main.phtml)

COLORING PAGES

An assortment of different images to color (http://www.coloring-pages-kids.com/)

Music coloring pages (http://www.freecoloringpagefun.com/music/)

SPORTS

Sports – ALA (http://gws.ala.org/category/arts/sports)  

HISTORY

Middle Ages (http://gws.ala.org/node/8144#.VFcOOK8cTIU)

 

ENGLISH – READING – GRAMMAR

Shakespeare for Kids (http://www.folger.edu/template.cfm?cid=588)

Idioms – The Idiom Connection (http://www.certifiedchinesetranslation.com/idioms/)

Star Fall – Reading and Phonics for Primary students (http://www.starfall.com/)

Find out about your favorite authors and  read reviews! (http://www.kidsreads.com/)

RESEARCH HELP

How to organize a research paper from Sayres School(http://www.sayreschool.org/uploaded/Academics/Library/Middle_Upper_School/Research_Notebook_2.pdf)

Citation help and research skills (http://oslis.org/)

EasyBib – Great for making easy citations for books and websites (http://www.easybib.com/)

OWL at Perdue – Great website to help students know how to cite their sources (https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/02/)  

GENERAL INFORMATION

Info Please – current events from 1997 to 2014 (http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0005971.html)

Primary Sources – ALA (http://www.ala.org/rusa/sections/history/resources/pubs/usingprimarysources)  

MATH

Fun Brain – Math and Reading games (http://www.funbrain.com/)  

 

EDUCATIONAL GAMES FOR STUDENTS

From the Monroe County Library (http://mcpl.info/)

Great for kids of all ages. Includes crafts, recipes, science, magic, games, jokes, trivia and more. (http://www.funology.com/)

This web site has lots of online colouring, games, jokes, words and music to songs and stories.

From the U.S. National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences. (NIEHS Kids’ Pages)

Play games, watch videos, enter contests! Presented by Ontario’s educational TV network. (TVO Kids)

Explore and play hundreds of fun educational games at this website by PBS. (PBS Kids)

Tons of fun games, book reviews, and videos to check out at this CBC website. (CBC Kids)

For younger kids. It has videos, games and activities. (http://www.knowledgekids.ca/)

 

Library Hours

Aside from the Library Lessons, the Library is open on the following time periods:

For Students

Before School – 6:45 a.m. – 7:00 a.m.

Break 1 – 9:30 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.

Break 2 – 11:45 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

After School – 1:45 p.m. – 2:15 p.m.

Faculty and staff

6:45 a.m. – 2:15 p.m.

Library Staff

The librarian guides students and teachers with the library resources and also available for instruction of library and information literacy lessons.

Ken Mervin Calipjo - Librarian

Cambridge logo   SEC updated logo