Welcome
Library
Latest News

Dear Community – English Modern School wishes safe and happy holidays. We look forward to seeing you and hearing all about your summer in September.

EMS Newsletter – May 2017 Volume 2 (English and Arabic version)

Kindly click the link below to read our latest newsletter:
EMS Newsletter – May 2017 Volume 2 (English)
EMS Newsletter – May 2017 Volume 2 (Arabic) 

School Gallery
Upcoming Events
  • No upcoming events
AEC v1.0.4
Home  »  Library
27th July 2017

Library

The English Modern School’s library houses over 14,000 books. During the summer of 2012, the library was enlarged to better meet the needs of students and staff. The books are also grouped by reading level, which helps students be successful and encourages lifelong readers.

The students use a rotating schedule to visit the library for book checkout. New this year is the use of students as library aides who assist with checking books in and out. Students may keep books for a two-week period with the option to renew for another two weeks when needed.

The library is open from 7:15 am until 2 pm. At EMS, we love to read!

Welcome to the English Modern School Al Wakra Campus Library Website. Click on the underlined links below to find what the information you need.

*Search the Library database – DESTINY QUEST (Catalog)

 

  • Animals

San Diego Zoo (http://zoo.sandiegozoo.org/)

Caring for animals (https://www.avma.org/KB/K12/Pages/petpourri-activity1.aspx)

Wildlife Conservation (http://www.wcs.org/)

Birds – All about Birds (http://www.allaboutbirds.org/page.aspx?pid=1189)

Animal Guide - Monterey Aquarium (http://www.montereybayaquarium.org/animal-guide)

Dinosauria (http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/diapsids/dinosaur.html)

 

  • Our Planet

From Canada. Kids learning about the Ecology (http://ecokids.ca/pub/kids_home.cfm)

Planets – Kids Astronomy (http://www.kidsastronomy.com/)

Biomes of the World – Blue Planet (http://www.blueplanetbiomes.org/world_biomes.htm)

Canadian National Geographic (http://www.canadiangeographic.ca/kids/default.asp)

 

  • Science

Catch the Science Bug (http://www.sciencebug.org/)

Science Buddies (http://www.sciencebuddies.org/)

Science News for Kids (https://student.societyforscience.org/sciencenews-students)

Science Kids (http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/sciencefacts.html)

Weather Wiz Kids (http://www.weatherwizkids.com/)

National Geographic Kids (http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/explore/)

From Science Bob. Students learn how to do experiments, find a science fair project, watch videos and ask general questions.(http://www.sciencebob.com/index.php)

 

  • The Arts – Music, Art, Sports, Museums, Crafts

Arts – ALA – Great Websites for Kids (http://gws.ala.org/category/arts)

Interactive and fun website is hosted by Buffalo, New York’s Albright Knox Art Gallery. Kids from 4 to 12 will have a blast creating their own masterpieces and playing art-inspirational games.

(http://kids.albrightknox.org/loader.html)

Music

Sponsored by the Charles H. Dater Foundation. Features different composers, games and general information about music.

(http://www.classicsforkids.com/)

From Fun Brain. Includes three games students can play.

(http://www.funbrain.com/teachers/subj_music.html)

New York Philharmonic Kids  (http://www.nyphilkids.org/main.phtml)

Coloring Pages

An assortment of different images to color (http://www.coloring-pages-kids.com/)

Music coloring pages (http://www.freecoloringpagefun.com/music/)

Sports

Sports – ALA (http://gws.ala.org/category/arts/sports)

 

  • History

Middle Ages (http://gws.ala.org/node/8144#.VFcOOK8cTIU)

 

  • English -Reading – Grammar

Shakespeare for Kids (http://www.folger.edu/template.cfm?cid=588)

Idioms – The Idiom Connection (http://www.certifiedchinesetranslation.com/idioms/)

Star Fall – Reading and Phonics for Primary students (http://www.starfall.com/)

Find out about your favorite authors and  read reviews! (http://www.kidsreads.com/)

 

  • Research Help

How to organize a research paper from Sayres School(http://www.sayreschool.org/uploaded/Academics/Library/Middle_Upper_School/Research_Notebook_2.pdf)

Citation help and research skills (http://oslis.org/)

EasyBib – Great for making easy citations for books and websites (http://www.easybib.com/)

OWL at Perdue – Great website to help students know how to cite their sources

(https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/02/)

 

  • General Information

Info Please – current events from 1997 to 2014 (http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0005971.html)

Primary Sources – ALA (http://www.ala.org/rusa/sections/history/resources/pubs/usingprimarysources)

 

  • Math

Fun Brain – Math and Reading games (http://www.funbrain.com/)

 

  • Educational Games for Students

From the Monroe County Library (http://mcpl.info/)

Great for kids of all ages. Includes crafts, recipes, science, magic, games, jokes, trivia and more. (http://www.funology.com/)

This web site has lots of online colouring, games, jokes, words and music to songs and stories. From the U.S. National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences. (NIEHS Kids’ Pages)

Play games, watch videos, enter contests! Presented by Ontario’s educational TV network. (TVO Kids)

Explore and play hundreds of fun educational games at this website by PBS. (PBS Kids)

Tons of fun games, book reviews, and videos to check out at this CBC website. (CBC Kids)

For younger kids. It has videos, games and activities. (http://www.knowledgekids.ca/)

Cambridge logo   SEC updated logo